The Long Bien Bridge was constructed from 1989 to 1902 during French’s occupation of the country. Though the bridge was designed by French, it was built directly by Vietnamese workers with indigenous construction materials like woods from Hai Phong, Long Tho lime from The bridge was formerly named Paul Doumer by the French, but Vietnamese have called it Long Bien or Cai River Bridge for a long time, and Long Bien becomes the most popular name of the bridge. Originally, Long Bien had 19 spans and it was the first steel bridge across Red river in Hanoi, and one of four greatest bridges in the world at the time it was built.
Dien Bien Phu battle, and contributed to the win of Vietnam army against French, 1954.
Today, Long Bien is only one of the five bridges crossing the Red river of Hanoi. However, it may be the most special bridge with unique historic, architectural, and tural value. It is the only bridge in Hanoi where all the riders have to go in the left hand side, where tourists can take a walk and taste mouthwatering desserts offered by vendors (see out in Hanoi), where Hanoians can buy fresh vegetable or fish for the dinner from the market on the bridge.
And many trains pass the bridge each day.
THE BANK (Sep 27, 2014 3:00:18 AM)
The Rooftop (Sep 27, 2014 3:00:12 AM)
Quan An Ngon – Delicious Ha Noi, Delicious Vietnam (Sep 27, 2014 3:00:06 AM)
Seventeen Cowboys Club (Sep 27, 2014 2:00:30 AM)